Matchplay Competitions

Click on the competition below for further details (2021):

CompetitionPreliminary RoundRound 1 - Play by:Round 2 - Play by:Quarter Final - Play by:Semi Final - Play by:Final
Andy DohertyQualifier 24/Apr - 32 Qualify - Seeded Draw24/May28/Jun30/Jul31/Aug12/Sep
Club FourballQualifier 18/Apr - 32 Qualify - Seeded Draw24/May28/Jun30/Jul31/Aug12/Sep
Singles - Class 1Qualifier 1/May - 16 Qualify - Seeded Draw28/JunN/A30/Jul31/Aug12/Sep
Singles - Class 2Qualifier 1/May - 16 Qualify - Seeded Draw28/JunN/A30/Jul31/Aug12/Sep
Singles - Class 3Qualifier 1/May - 16 Qualify - Seeded Draw28/JunN/A30/Jul31/Aug12/Sep
Singles - Class 4Qualifier 1/May - 16 Qualify - Seeded Draw28/JunN/A30/Jul31/Aug12/Sep
Club Foursomes10/May3/Jun1/Jul30/Jul31/Aug12/Sep
Mixed Foursomes10/May3/Jun1/Jul30/Jul31/Aug12/Sep
Father & Son Scotch FoursomesN/A1/JulN/A30/Jul31/Aug12/Sep
Cotter CupQualifier 5/Jun - 16 Qualify6/JunN/A12/Jun13/Jun13/Jun

Previous Champions:

Matchplay Championships2020 Champions2019 Champions2018 Champions2017 Champions2016 Champions
Andy Doherty CupHarry MorganDarren BryanNigel CosgraveDeclan RickardSimon Foran
Club Singles Class 1Harry MorganMark LawlorMark LawlorJamie QuinnTopps Prumthep
Club Singles Class 2Damien KearneyJohn TimminsCiaran GrantAndrew MayLiam Bridgette
Club Singles Class 3Anthony MoranCharles RobertsonTom O'MalleyPaul SmithersPaul Smithers
Club Singles Class 4Peter BrownTony WilkinsonGerry McCaulJ.J. McElroyDeclan Rickard
Ladies Challenge CupNot PlayedPatricia O’NeillPatricia O’NeillWendy GouldingPauline Leheny
Ladies Ferguson CupNot PlayedNot PlayedMary LynamDorothy MoorheadPhil Brangan Bolger
Club FourballBrian Hanratty & Barry GorhamMark Smithers & Andrew KeenanGary Murray & Ardle CulletonDarren Greaney & Keith GibbonsAndrew Lilly & Topps Prumthep
Gents FoursomesJames O’Toole & Paul SpeirinDarryll Murray & Darragh KellyHarry May & Maurice O'GradyGerry O’Reilly & Mark MackeyGary Smithers & Andrew Keenan
Ladies FoursomesNot PlayedCarol McAllister & Pauline LehenyMartina McGrath & Catherine CrummeyMartina McGrath & Catherine CrummeyMartina McGrath & Catherine Crummey
Club Mixed FoursomesTBCMartina & Don McGrathDamien & Kate HanrattyPat Doran & Pat O’BrienDamien & Kate Hanratty
Father and SonDamien & Ben HanrattyDamien & Ben HanrattyMartin & Alan O'GormanDamien & Ben HanrattyDamien & Ben Hanratty

Rules for Match Play Competitions:

a) All round matches must be played prior to the date posted.

b) It is the responsibility of the person or persons on top of the draw to arrange the match.

c) Failure by competitors to arrange a match prior to the cut off date may lead to competitors being disqualified by the Men’s or Ladies’ committee.

d) When a match is completed the result must be posted by the losing person or team on the appropriate chart on club notice board. The convener of competitions must also be notified of any changes of dates and results which will then be relayed to club website.

e) All matches must be played off the white tees (not stakes). Ladies off Red.

f) In mixed competitions men drive off first.

g) If a player qualifies for two or more finals he must arrange the match prior to the finals date (13th September).

h) Matches must not be played on competition courses or during competitions.

i) In the case where agreement cannot be reached in organising a date and or time for a match, the decision of the competitions committee will be final.

j) Handicap Allowances in Matchplay – See each Matchplay competition page for further details.

k) All finals are expected to be played on Finals Day, Sunday 13th September except where a person is competing in 2 finals. Only in exceptional circumstances will permission be given to play on another date. In such cases dates and times must be agreed with convener of competitions or (for ladies matchplay Ladies competitions committee).

l) All matches are expected to be played in accordance with rules and etiquette of golf. Where dispute arises over an issue players should proceed with the match and seek ruling later where possible. The decision of the Competition committee will be final in these matters.