Cotter Cup 2023


Handicap Rules:
Singles – The full difference between the course handicaps of the 2 players.

The Cotter Cup, a particularly fine piece of hallmarked silverware, was presented to the Club in memory the young Bertie Cotter by his relatives. It was first played for in 1956 as a singles competition within the Club and won by Pearse Gough with rounds of 66 and 68. After the first two years the competition changed to an Open FourBall Matchplay.

In 1961 it began to be played as an Open Singles Matchplay and in this format achieved widespread fame as there was no handicap restriction, the only one of its kind in the country. “The Cotter” attracted entries from far and wide, including once from an Australian. Indeed many of the entrants took annual holidays in their efforts to win, such was its stature. The height of “The Cotter” fame came in 1976 when 388 entries were received and so it remained until 1997 when it was regrettably demoted to an 18 hole Open Singles. Fortunately, recent Committees have taken a more enlightened view and returned it to Open Matchplay after the usual qualifying round.

Over the years, winners have come from most of the North County [Dublin] clubs and also from Baltinglass, Kilcock, Newlands and Old Conna. An early winner from Clontarf was the brother, of a future Taoiseach, no less.

As usual, it would be impossible to compile this resume without constant “mining” of Des O’Shaughnessy’s History of Donabate Golf Club 1925-2000. Eamonn Purcell.

Cotter Cup Champions:

2023Paul Fagan
2022Gary Wright
2021Kevin Canavan
2020Harry Morgan
2019Shay Howard
2018Brian Shanahan
2017David Byrne
2016Pat O'Brien
2015John McGillacuddy
2014Paul Bradshaw
2013Coral Smyth
2012Brendan Forkin
2011Paul Bradshaw
2010Geoffrey Woodhead
2009Gavin Moynihan
2008Louis Fagan
2007Eoin McLafferty
2006Alan Hopkins
2005Gary Walsh
2004Sean Fagan
2003Derek Convery
2002Darragh Mulligan
2001Andrew Fox
2000Dominick Cashin
1999Michael Garry
1998Conal Smyth
1997Sean Fagan
1996Sean Fagan
1995Noel Lally
1994Adrian G. Mahony
1993Sean Fagan
1992Paddy McEvoy
1991Pat McCrudden
1990Finan P. Grimes
1989Brian May
1988Finan P. Grimes
1987Tom J. Jordan
1986Brian P. Smyth
1985John Gaffney
1984John Gaffney
1983Joe Coyle
1982M. Sheridan
1981Joe Guinan
1980Martin Moore
1979Michael Allen
1978Cecil Lee
1977Jim Beatty
1976Charlie Donnelly Jnr.
1975Martin Sludds
1974Vincent Donnelly
1973Gerry Carr
1972Cecil Lee
1971Cecil Lee
1970Eamonn Purcell
1969M. O'Brien Kenney
1968Paddy Walshe
1967Andy Doherty
1966Kevin Sherlock
1965P. Fortune
1964J. J. O'Neill
1963Donal P. Duggan
1962Andy Doherty
1961Pádraig Haughey
1960 - FourballPádraig Haughey and Denis Allen
1959 - FourballDon Cregan and Des Cregan
1958 - FourballFrank Cassidy and Freddie McDonnell
1957 - 36 Holes StrokesFrank Cassidy
1956 - 36 Holes StrokesPearse Gough

0 comments on “Cotter Cup 2023Add yours →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *