Cotter Cup 2018

Handicap Rules:
Singles - The full difference between the handicaps of the player.

Key Dates:
Strokes Qualifier (on Yellow-Blue) - 9th June - 31 qualify, plus previous Champion
Round 1 - Field split across 11th and 12th June (from 4pm each day on Yellow-Blue)
Round 2 - 14th June (from 4pm on Yellow-Blue)
Quarter Final - 15th June (from 5pm on Yellow-Blue)
Semi Final - 16th June (from 4:30pm on Yellow-Blue)
Final Sunday - 17th June (12:30pm on Yellow-Blue).

The Cotter Cup, a particularly fine piece of hallmarked silverware, was presented to the Club in memory the young Bertie Cotter by his relatives. It was first played for in 1956 as a singles competition within the Club and won by Pearse Gough with rounds of 66 and 68. After the first two years the competition changed to an Open FourBall Matchplay.

In 1961 it began to be played as an Open Singles Matchplay and in this format achieved widespread fame as there was no handicap restriction, the only one of its kind in the country. “The Cotter” attracted entries from far and wide, including once from an Australian. Indeed many of the entrants took annual holidays in their efforts to win, such was its stature. The height of “The Cotter” fame came in 1976 when 388 entries were received and so it remained until 1997 when it was regrettably demoted to an 18 hole Open Singles. Fortunately, recent Committees have taken a more enlightened view and returned it to Open Matchplay after the usual qualifying round.

Over the years, winners have come from most of the North County [Dublin] clubs and also from Baltinglass, Kilcock, Newlands and Old Conna. An early winner from Clontarf was the brother, of a future Taoiseach, no less.

As usual, it would be impossible to compile this resume without constant “mining” of Des O’Shaughnessy’s History of Donabate Golf Club 1925-2000. Eamonn Purcell.

Cotter Cup Champions:

Year Champion
2017 David Byrne
2016 Pat O'Brien
2015 John McGillacuddy
2014 Paul Bradshaw
2013 Coral Smyth
2012 Brendan Forkin
2011 Paul Bradshaw
2010 Geoffrey Woodhead
2009 Gavin Moynihan
2008 Louis Fagan
2007 Eoin McLafferty
2006 Alan Hopkins
2005 Gary Walsh
2004 Sean Fagan
2003 Derek Convery
2002 Darragh Mulligan
2001 Andrew Fox
2000 Dominick Cashin
1999 Michael Garry
1998 Conal Smyth
1997 Sean Fagan
1996 Sean Fagan
1995 Noel Lally
1994 Adrian G. Mahony
1993 Sean Fagan
1992 Paddy McEvoy
1991 Pat McCrudden
1990 Finan P. Grimes
1989 Brian May
1988 Finan P. Grimes
1987 Tom J. Jordan
1986 Brian P. Smyth
1985 John Gaffney
1984 John Gaffney
1983 Joe Coyle
1982 M. Sheridan
1981 Joe Guinan
1980 Martin Moore
1979 Michael Allen
1978 Cecil Lee
1977 Jim Beatty
1976 Charlie Donnelly Jnr.
1975 Martin Sludds
1974 Vincent Donnelly
1973 Gerry Carr
1972 Cecil Lee
1971 Cecil Lee
1970 Eamonn Purcell
1969 M. O'Brien Kenney
1968 Paddy Walshe
1967 Andy Doherty
1966 Kevin Sherlock
1965 P. Fortune
1964 J. J. O'Neill
1963 Donal P. Duggan
1962 Andy Doherty
1961 Pádraig Haughey
1960 - Fourball Pádraig Haughey and Denis Allen
1959 - Fourball Don Cregan and Des Cregan
1958 - Fourball Frank Cassidy and Freddie McDonnell
1957 - 36 Holes Strokes Frank Cassidy
1956 - 36 Holes Strokes Pearse Gough

0 comments on “Cotter Cup 2018Add yours →

Leave a Reply